Patchwork Liberty

The sewing room disaster

on April 28, 2013

A couple of weeks ago I went on a quest to turn my disaster of a sewing room into a place that could inspire me.  That task is not quite as easy as it sounds since the space is our basement that I share with my two fun-loving, messy boys and their playroom.  I have tried multiple times to make things look cool and have been acquiring shelf organizers and white furniture for a couple of years to help me get the job done.  So I already had some of the key components.  There just hadn’t been enough time to actually get the job done.  I take that back.  There had been time, I was procrastinating or as I like to put it “planning”.  🙂  I only took a couple of photos before hand because the boys side of the room was too horrible to take a picture of.

sewing room before 1

My sewing desk and Trevor’s school desk (yes this obviously was bought as a future desk for me and not him)

Two cabinets that I wanted to move to a better space

Two cabinets that I wanted to move to a better space

It was time to get the job done.  I was excited and blasting some Christian Rock to help keep my spirits up for the weekend long project.  First came unloading the fabric already stored inside the cabinets so that I could actually move them.

My stash of fabrics

My stash of fabrics and books (the books are buried)

Then it was time to move the furniture to better spots…

The furniture move

The furniture move

Finally it was time to get to the serious fun of organizing the fabrics. Which honestly, I love because it reminds me of why I bought them in the first place and all of the projects that I want to make with them. In the end this is the sewing room that developed and I must say that I am pretty darn happy with it. Keep in mind that I was limited in the angles that I could capture for photos because my space was clean, but the boys play area was still a complete disaster. 🙂

I'm sure it will never look this clean again

I’m sure it will never look this clean again

It will never look this clean again

My little hidden corner of essentials and odds and ends

I really need to find the hardware to fix that one cabinet.

I really need to find the hardware to fix that one cabinet, but it is in the garage and that is a whole organizing project of its own

2 responses to “The sewing room disaster

  1. sage_brush says:

    Very inspiring!

    • Thanks! I am putting the binding on a quilt for my Gramma this week in prep for Mother’s Day. I found an adorable reprint that exactly matches a set of picture dominoes that my Mom and Uncle played with when they were kids.

Leave a Reply

