Patchwork Liberty

The sad chair

on May 1, 2013

When my husband’s Grandparents died seven years ago we were honored to receive the secretary desk and chair that they got when they first married.  Over the past couple of years the poor chair has become a sad chair.  The button covers popped off of several of the buttons and whenever a person sat on the chair they ran the risk of putting a hole in their pants!

Needless to say the chair had been sitting in the laundry room for a good bit collecting dust and boxes.  Now that my sewing room is looking good it is time to re-upholster the chair.  I had never done anything like this and it was really quite fun.

The sad chair

The sad chair

My helper, Sean, who was very excited to use tools.  I love this age!

I love when one of my boys helps me.  :)

I love when one of my boys helps me. 🙂

So whoever upholstered this chair originally was SERIOUS!!! I took out no less than 150 tacks. Holy cows!!!

thousand upon thousands of tacks...

thousand upon thousands of tacks…

Eventually I got down to the original horsehair padding and straps. It was a little icky so I replaced it with some foam and my new fabric. I should mention that Sean lost interest long ago and by this point had stopped helping me. 🙂 It’s all good, he helped for a bit and that is good enough for me. So here is the happy chair…..

Ta Da

Ta Da

2 responses to “The sad chair

  1. Well done!! It’s beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

