Patchwork Liberty

The first quilt to be completed by my hands. :)

on May 13, 2013
My wonderful Gramma

My wonderful Gramma

I have been drooling over fabrics at Joann’s for years…  It wasn’t until my mother-in-law bought me my first sewing machine 3 years ago that I decided what the heck, I’m taking a quilting class.

What I discovered in that class was that I didn’t know how to use a sewing machine at all and that I was actually kind of freaked out about it….  So I started hand sewing that first quilt and I am happy to say that I am almost ready to bind it.  Needless to say that is not the quilt that I am talking about.  lol

Several months ago I was in my favorite Joann’s and I saw this fabric that made me do a double take.  The images on the vintage reprint were the exact same ones on the Picture Dominoes that my Gramma has in her attic.  My Mom and Uncle played with them, I played with them and both of my boys have played with them.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but I knew it was going to be something eventually.

It took me a couple of weeks to find a pattern that I thought was easy enough for a true beginner and that showed off the cute images of bunnies, lambs and chicks.  Finally I settled on this simple pattern called “New Beginnings” by Canyon Creek Fabrics.  It was straight forward and a great one for a newbie like myself.  I enjoyed fussy cutting the little faces for the 2 1/2″ joining sections of the lattice.  I went to a great little shop called Seminole Sampler to buy the pink and green gingham fabric as well as the yellow polka dots.

I finished literally right on time for Mother’s Day.  I see my Mom, Aunt and Gramma in… oh about 9 hours.  Cutting it close is pretty much a requirement for me.  My Gramma has had a really tough year with my Uncle and her last two brothers passing away.  I’m hoping that this helps make her smile a little more often.  Somehow I think my Mom will forgive me for not being the first one to get a TT masterpiece.  🙂

Leave a Reply

